Orvieto, Italy is set upon a veranda of a picturesque cliff with walls that drop straight down into the valley below, creating a majestic setting for an ancient and protected Medieval town. The entire town of Orvieto places you back in time to Medieval times through the beautiful and unique artistry of the buildings, the view, and the atmosphere that is still prevalent today.
The birth of Orvieto dates back to the Etruscan civilization going back to around the 9th century. Inside the tufaceous caves, several artifacts were found to prove the fact that the city itself was built during that time.
By the third century B.C., Orvieto was annexed to the territories of Rome in which it remained under the control of Rome until its decline. At that time, Orvieto became a free municipality and saw battles with those wishing to conquer the area such as Guelphs and Ghibellines. Orvieto stayed faithful to the Pope through all the wars. With the support of Papal State, it began to prosper and by the 13th century was a very popular town in the area. During the 13th century, it had received the constitution of the General Council of the 400 and the election of the Captain of the People.
During this time, several buildings were erected including many holy buildings and palaces, many of which are still standing today. The Cathedral is one of the most popular, which was erected in 1263. The Cathedral is an excellent example of Gothic design and artistry.
In Orvieto, you will enjoy many other wonderful and unique buildings from the same period including St. Patrizio well. The St. Patrizio well was created in 1527 erected from the design of Antonio da Sangallo il Giovane. Other buildings around Orvieto that should not be overlooked include Saint Giovenale’s Church built during the 11th century, the Palace of People Captain built during the 12th century, Saint Andrew’s Church from the 12th century, Saint Domenic’s Church from the 12th century, Soliano Palace erected in 1262, the Palace of the Seven from 1300, and the Mancinelli Theatre built in 1866.